Croatia to have 2 regions

Croatia, which is quickly turning into one of Europe’s hottest travel destination, is all set to get divided into 2 statistical regions - Continental Croatia and Adriatic Croatia. The EU (European Union has accepted Croatia government’s plan to divide the nation into 2 regions that the country will utilize as a base to build up their regional policies and take money from the European Union funds.

On Monday, Branko Grcic, the Minister of Regional Development and European Union Funds, stated that this new partition will be implemented from 1st Jan, 2013. A leading daily of the country reported that Grcic told that their government has successfully secured the country’s future as the country will have 2 statistical regions instead of three. They have already spoken to the EU as well as Eurostat with the aim of obtaining money from the funds of the European Union. In this way, all the local government as well as Croatian regions will get substantial support from the European Union in the next fourteen years.

Right now, Croatia has three regions - Northwestern region, Pannonian Croatia and Adriatic region. Adriatic Croatia will remain the same with 7 counties - Dubrovnik-Neretva, Istria, Split-Dalmatia, Sibenik-Knin, Zadar, Lika-Senj and Primorje-Gorski. On the other hand, Pannonian Croatia and North West region will be joined as one region called Continental Croatia which will have Zagreb and other counties - Sisak-Moslavina, Karlovac, Vukovar-Syrmia, Osijek-Baranja, Brod-Posavina, Pozega-Slavonia, Virovitica-Podravina, Bjelovar-Bilogora, Medjimurje, Koprivnica-Krizevci, Varazdin and Krapina-Zagorje.